Gold and Energy

Financial Independence/Retire Early -- Learn How!
peteyperson
**** Heavy Hitter

Gold and Energy

Post by peteyperson »

How could I find out the data going back possibly several decades for the performance of Gold, Gold mutual funds and Energy (Oil & Natural Gas)?

So far all I have can find is a decade worth of stats at best which includes the bumped gains with Gold but doesn't show the realistic long term performance of this asset class. I ask because Gold funds here carry a 5.25% sales load and 1.5-1.7% annual mgmt fees, so I wonder if their usual performance warrants any investment at all. More data would help to make that decision.

Thanks,
Petey
therealchips
*** Veteran

200 years of spot gold prices

Post by therealchips »

http://www.onlygold.com/TutorialPages/P ... 0YrsFS.htm
200 years of spot gold prices - since 1792

I cannot figure out how to unscramble the data at that site for reproducing here, so I give you just the URL.

I have no special knowledge about the questions you asked. I found that site by searching at google on

"price of gold" 1900 1910 1920 1930 1980

This is brute force, not subtlety. I can't vouch for the accuracy of the data on that site, but this might get you started. Most of the sites I found this way are in PDF format which seems designed to prevent copying and pasting. Sigh.

Editted to add this:

http://goldinstitute.org/markets/1833tab.html is another source.
He who has lived obscurely and quietly has lived well. [Latin: Bene qui latuit, bene vixit.]

Chips
therealchips
*** Veteran

25 year gains: S&P 500 2013%; Gold funds 637%

Post by therealchips »

Sorry, I leave it to you to make this table look like a table:
S&P beats gold in long term.

Gold has clobbered the Standard and Poor's 500-stock index the last five years, but stocks have romped in the long run. How gold has fared vs. stocks:
Total return*
Investment 1 year 5 years 10 years 15 years 20 years 25 years